

# UNIFIED FIRE AUTHORITY/UNIFIED FIRE SERVICE AREA JOINT MEETING MINUTES

September 17, 2019 8:56 a.m. Emergency Operations Center, 3380 S. 900 W., SLC, UT. 84119

1. <u>Call to Order</u> Quorum was obtained

# 2. <u>Public Comment</u>

None

# 3. <u>Minutes Approval</u>

Council Member Stewart moved to approve the minutes from the November 20, 2018 UFA/UFSA Joint Meeting as submitted Council Member Perry seconded the motion

All in favor

## 4. Open and Public Meetings Training

This training is an annual requirement for the Board and given by CLO Roberts

- Meetings must be open to the public, and the agenda posted through the State of Utah Agenda Website, at the EOC, and both UFA/UFSA websites
- In order to take final action on an item, the item needs to be listed and noticed on the agenda
- Discussed close meeting requirements and why meetings need to be recorded vs. not recorded
- Currently the minutes serve as the official record for both organizations at this time
- Attention must be given to emails, when replying, please do not reply to all, decisions cannot be made outside of regularly held board meetings
- Agenda prep meetings are held prior to UFA/UFSA meetings to ensure Board Chairs are involved in agenda construction, understand upcoming issues in order to direct the process, and to verify that the agenda states what is intended
- Final approval of the agenda is done by the Board Chair
- Goal is to publish the agenda the Friday before the Board Meeting, rather than 24 hours prior to the meeting

## 5. <u>Possible Closed Session</u>

None

#### 6. Adjournment

Council Member Stewart moved to adjourn the meeting Mayor Dahle seconded this motion All voted in favor

#### **BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:**

Mayor Robert Hale

Council Member Kathleen Bailey

Mayor Robert Dahle

SLCo Surveyor Reid Demman

Council Member Trish Hull Mayor Kristie Overson

Council Member Allan Perry

Mayor Kelly Bush Mayor Jeff Silvestrini

Council Member Sheldon Stewart

Mayor Tom Westmoreland

Mayor Jenny Wilson Mayor Harris Sondak

#### **BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Council Member Richard Snelgrove

Council Member Nicole Martin

Council Member Gary Bowen

Mayor Mike Peterson

#### STAFF:

UFSA Counsel Anderson

CFO Tony Hill

**CLO Brian Roberts** 

Cynthia Young

Chief Petersen – Phone in

### **OTHER ATTENDEES:**

Arriann Woolf

**Assistant Chief Higgs** 

Assistant Chief Watson

Assistant Chief Ziolkowski

**Battalion Chief Mecham** 

**Battalion Chief Watkins** 

Brett Wood-Herriman

Captain Conn

Dan Knopp, BCC District Chief Prokopis

**Division Chief Larson** 

**Division Chief Robinson** 

**Division Chief Robinson** 

**DOC Nile Easton** 

Greg VanderWerff

Ifo Pili, UFSA

Jeremy Robertson

Kate Turnbaugh

Keith Zuspan, BCC Larson Wood, Facilities

Matt McFarland

Mike Reberg, SLCo

Ryan Love